Latest News Updates!

NTC Christmas Carols
All are invited to attend the Carol Concert at St Margaret's Church, Northam on 13th December 2014 at 3.30PM. View the poster on the Community page.

7th October 2014:
Finding local information and advice about care and support services. Care and support is something that nearly everyone will need at some point in their lives. Even if you don’t need it yourself, you will probably know a family member or friend who does. To help us to improve the information and advice available about care and support services in our local area please take a few minutes to complete the following survey:

29th October 2014:
Northam Town Council's Autumn Newsletter is now published. You can view this and past newsletters here.
21st October 2014:
The local PCSO, John Mcgovern, has provided the Council with an updated copy of the 'From The Beat' bulletin. You can view it on the Community page. He will also be atending the Full Council Meeting on 29th October to give an update on the area, you can view the agenda here.


Welcome To Northam Town Council

Northam Town Council is responsible for the wards of Northam, Westward Ho!, Appledore and Orchard Hill. We will try to provide up to date information for parishioners and the website will be regularly updated with current information. Please visit often as we increase the information available.

The Town Council is served by four wards, with councillors elected every four years, six serving Northam, four at Appledore, and two at Westward Ho! and Orchard Hill. The next scheduled elections are in 2015. For more information about your local councillors please vist the Councillors page. Each ward has its own distinct flavour with shops, restaurants  and many visitor attractions.


The Town Council meets in full on the last Wednesday of each month and a number of committees meet on a regular basis throughout each month. A full calendar of meetings can be viewed here. Vist the Meetings page for more information.


Devon County Council and Torridge District Council are the principal authorities that serve the area. Torridge District Council is responsible for environmental health, revenue collection, planning, the provision of leisure services, licensing, community and environment, within the district of Torridge, the District Council also collects refuse. There are 6 members that represent Northam Town Council from a total of 36 District Council members. For further information on Torridge District Council services visit

Devon County Council covers the whole of Devon, except for Plymouth and Torbay which have ‘unitary’ councils responsible for both District and County functions. DCC has 62 Councillors in total, of which 1 represents Northam Town Council and is currently Councillor Andrew Eastman. DCC’s main responsibilities are education, libraries, social services, highways, waste disposal, and trading standards. For further information on Devon County Council Services visit